Cookie Policy

Event: Holding Companies to Account

How new EU laws can help protect people and the planet against corporate abuse

On March 4th Global Witness, in partnership with Anti-Slavery International and the Clean Clothes Campaign, will host an online conversation between European Union representatives and advocates from Colombia and India who are campaigning for justice for the serious harms inflicted on workers and communities by unscrupulous companies.

Corporations enjoy unprecedented wealth and power. For years, many have abused that power at immense human and environmental cost. Our legal systems are pitifully inadequate to stop this - governments and citizens have no real legal means to hold companies accountable for the harms they cause.

Together we will discuss what’s needed to introduce strong and enforceable laws.

Speakers:

Didier Reynders, European Commissioner for Justice

MEP Lara Wolters, Rapporteur for European Parliament report on Corporate Due Diligence & Corporate Accountability

Angelica Ortiz, member of the Wayuu Women's Force Movement in Colombia

Rekha Chakravarthi, Director, Business and Human Rights from CIVIDEP in India

Hélène de Rengerve, Senior EU Adviser, Anti-Slavery International​

The talk will be moderated by Rachel Owens, Head of EU Office & Advocacy for Global Witness.

Date: 4th March 2021

Time: 10:30 Bogota/ 15:30 London / 16:30 Brussels / 21:00 Delhi

Live interpretation will be available in Spanish, Portuguese and French.

You can update your preferences or unsubscribe at any time by using the footer links in our emails. For more information about how Global Witness processes your personal data, please see our privacy notice.